Presbytery Of Cincinnati

Today . . .

. . . the Presbytery of Cincinnati contains 65 vibrant communities of worship. The Presbytery covers 7 counties in southwest Ohio, 6 counties in northern Kentucky, and 2 counties in southeast Indiana. Our congregations range from small rural core churches to large urban, and everything in between.

We are a Matthew 25 PC(USA) Presbytery, continuing our long heritage of speaking out for racial justice, alleviating poverty, and seeking always to create vibrant communities of worship and mission.

We are diverse: the places we serve, our styles of worship, our kinds of ministries, and how we think about issues of faith. But we are united in Christ, our common bond of love and hope, peace and faith, justice and mercy.

Journey with us along the path of Life in the Spirit.

First Presbyterian Church was organized on October 16, 1790

The first Presbyterian Church in the Northwest Territories was planted near Fort Washington, on the banks of the Ohio River, in the town then known as Losantiville, later named Cincinnati, in 1790. A mere two years after the founding of the fort. Funding for the church was secured with subscriptions from every male resident.

The Reverend James Kemper, a Revolutionary War hero from Virginia, committed five dollars. This equaled five days of his work, five days of work by his oxen team, and five boat planks to the building of the church. Kemper became the first ordained minister in the Ohio River Valley and of the church.



217 Wyoming Ave Cincinnati OH 45215 US

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Wyoming Avenue 217
Wyoming 45215 OH US
Get directions